How to Understand What Is Really in a Supplement
Extracts, standardisation, proprietary blends and dry-powder equivalence — the vocabulary that decides whether an ingredient list means anything at all.
The Vocabulary That Decides Whether a JellyFil-Style Ingredient List Means Anything
Ingredient lists look informative and often are not. A handful of technical terms determine whether a list tells you something real, and they are worth ten minutes of your life.
Extract Versus Powder on a JellyFil-Style Label
A powder is the dried, milled plant. An extract concentrates selected compounds using a solvent. These are not interchangeable: 100 mg of a 10:1 extract may represent 1,000 mg of raw plant, and may also contain a completely different balance of compounds from the whole herb.
This is why comparing milligrams across products without knowing the form is meaningless.
Standardisation: The Word JellyFil Does Not Use
A standardised extract guarantees a specified percentage of a marker compound — ashwagandha standardised to 5% withanolides, horny goat weed to a stated icariin percentage, saw palmetto to 85–95% fatty acids.
This matters more than almost anything else on a label. Clinical trials use standardised extracts. An unstandardised extract at the same weight may contain a fraction of the active compound, or almost none. If standardisation is not stated, the milligram figure tells you much less than it appears to.
Proprietary Blends, as JellyFil Uses
A proprietary blend gives one combined weight for several ingredients without disclosing the split. It is legal, common, and the single biggest obstacle to evaluating a formula.
The problem is straightforward. If a label declares an 82 mg blend of nine ingredients, that total is compatible with an even split of roughly 10 mg each, or with one ingredient at 74 mg and the other eight at 1 mg apiece. Nothing on the label distinguishes those two products, and the second is far cheaper to make.
One useful rule: ingredients within a blend must be listed in descending order by weight. So the first ingredient is the largest component — you just do not know by how much.
Dry-Powder Equivalence, as Seen on the JellyFil Label
Some labels add a note like “equivalent to approximately 567 mg of dry powders” beneath a smaller extract weight. This is a legitimate way to describe a concentrated extract, and it is genuinely useful information.
Two cautions. First, equivalence to raw powder is not the same as equivalence to the standardised extract a trial used. Second, the equivalent figure is the number marketers prefer to quote, so check which one is the actual content and which is the equivalence.
The Other Ingredients Line on a JellyFil Label
The line below the panel — binders, fillers, sweeteners, preservatives. It is where you find out that a “100% natural” product contains corn syrup, sorbitol and citric acid, and it is the line most people never read.
For gummies specifically, this is where the sugar lives.
Putting It Together for JellyFil
Four questions answer most of it. Is it an extract or a powder? Is it standardised, and to what? Is the amount disclosed individually or hidden in a blend? And how does that amount compare with the research?
The entire JellyFil blend is 82 mg, shared between nine ingredients
Unusually for this category, no estimate is needed here. The figure is printed on the Supplement Facts panel.
Proprietary Blend: 82 mg. That single number covers muira puama, maca, catuaba, green tea, caffeine, ashwagandha, L-arginine, tribulus and horny goat weed. Caffeine accounts for 5 mg of it, leaving roughly 77 mg shared between eight botanicals — about 10 mg each if divided evenly.
Because it is a proprietary blend, the split is not disclosed. One ingredient could be almost all of the 82 mg and the rest present in trace amounts.
The label's own counter-argument, and why it does not close the gap. The panel adds that 82 mg is “equivalent to approximately 567 mg of dry powders”, meaning concentrated extracts were used. Take that at face value and the even split becomes roughly 63 mg per ingredient — still far below every figure in the right-hand column. L-arginine in particular is studied in grams, and dry-powder equivalence is not the same thing as the standardised extract a trial used.
The honest conclusion: this is a very small amount of active material spread thinly. That is a structural feature of gummies rather than a scandal — a gummy is mostly sugar and pectin, and there is little room for anything else — but it is the fact that matters most when judging whether the formula can do what the page says.
Where This Leaves JellyFil
Everything above applies to any daily supplement. Applied to this one, the useful starting points are the ingredients page, which sets out the two conflicting lists, how it works, and the FAQ. The pricing page covers packages and the guarantee window.
More From the JellyFil Blog
Considering JellyFil?
Read the ingredients page first. The product label and the seller's website describe two different formulas, only three ingredients appear on both, and the label declares caffeine in a product advertised as stimulant-free. Those are the facts that should shape the decision.
From $49 per bottle · 60-day money-back guarantee · One gummy a day